Nago selected for Lava Tube Award, USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory for Torch of Light

The Big Island Press Club (BIPC) awards its annual meritorious Torch of Light Award to the team of scientists at USGS Hawaiian Volcano Observatory and the Lava Tube dishonor award to state Chief Elections Officer Scott Nago. The Torch of Light award is given to an individual or organization which brightens the public’s right to know while the Lava Tube dishonor is given for a lack of communication and keeping the public in the dark.

BIPC scholarship dinner 2014

It’s time to honor the 2014 recipients of the Big Island Press Club scholarship awards.

The winners have been chosen and now we gather for a collegial evening in Hilo to fete them. No-host mixer begins at 5:30 p.m., followed by a dinner buffet.

Guest speaker is Erika Engle, a former BIPC scholarship recipient and business reporter for the Star-Advertiser.

2013 Lava Tube and Torch of Light Award winners announced

The Big Island Press Club has given the Democratic Party House District 5 Council the dubious honor of the 2013 Lava Tube Award for its behind-closed-doors handling of a special election naming three nominees to replace Rep. Denny Coffman, who left in the middle of his term. District 5 covers Kailua- Kona, Kealakekua, Captain Cook, […]