2017 BIPC Scholarship Recipients

HawCC Chancellor Rachel Solemsaas

Congratulations to the 2017 BIPC Scholarship winners for their hard work and continued service to the fields of journalism and media. They were awarded at a dinner this past spring with featured guest speaker, HawCC Chancellor Rachel Solemsaas. Solemsaas gave a speech about her life path to help students receive the education they need.

The 2017 winners were awarded as follows:

Hugh Clark Memorial Scholarship to Danielle Brown of Hilo High. Brown plans to attend George Fox University. She is a straight A student with a GPA of 4.16 and submitted an impressive essay on 9/11 Conspiracy Theories, a selection of fictional dramatic writings, and published articles from the Hawaii Tribune Herald.

Bill Arballo Scholarship to Savannah Directo (previous winner in 2016) of Kea’au High School. She now attends UH Hilo and plans to go to Hamilton University. Savannah is a straight A student with a 4.0 GPA. She wants to pursue a career as a writer and editor. She had a recent written short fictional piece published in the UH Hilo Art and Literary Magazine: Kanilehua.

Yukino Fukabori Memorial Scholarship to Brian Wild who is attending UH Hilo and maintains a 3.8 GPA. He worked at the UH Hilo student run newspaper, Ke Kalahea, as a writer and made his way up through the ranks to become the editor-in-chief. He has worked in the Office of Senator Brian Schatz as a communications intern writing press releases and recently played a role in Jackie Johnson’s production of Evita. He will be graduating this May and plans to attend graduate school at UH Manoa.

BIPC President Lara Hughes with 2017 Scholarship Recipients and Scholarhip Donor Anne Clark

BIPC President Lara Hughes, winners Danielle Brown, Aspen Mauch, HawCC Chancellor Rachel Solemsaas, Donor Anne Clark, winners Savannah Directo, and Brian Wild

Jack Markey Memorial Scholarship to Aspen Mauch of UH Hilo. Mauch maintains a GPA of 3.8 and is interested in medical journalism. She works as a newswriter for Ke Kalahea. A major highlight of Mauch’s includes her article UHHSA V. Shouse, which covered the controversial story involving the university’s student body government and the removal of one of its senators.

Bob Miller Memorial Scholarship to Gina Selig. Selig attends UH Hilo and writes for Ke Kalahea. Gina has a 3.5 GPA and is interested in scientific journalism. Highlights of her articles include the Papahanamokuakea Expansion and an interview with Hawaii County Battalion Chief for the Special Ops Bureau, Gerald Kosaki.

Marcia Reynolds Memorial Scholarship to Kacie LaGuire. Laguire is a past BIPC scholarship recipient and attends San Francisco University. She has a 3.6 GPA and is a media major with an interest in social responsibility. She manages all media for an organization on campus at her university called the University of San Francisco Food Recovery Network.